icon-document-pdficon-document-pdf-fullicon-document-texticon-searchicon-share-facebookicon-share-googleplusicon-share-linkedinicon-share-twittericon-staricon-video-camera

Guests vs. Users: What's the Difference?

 

Conceptboard User Categories

  • Members of professional (PRO) teams (Part of your team)
  • Other professional Users (members from other PRO teams)
  • Free licence users (Not part of your team)
  • Invited/pending users (they are counted as part of the team the moment their invitation link is sent out; they can, however, remain on a free licence if they are yet to accept their team invitation) 

Professional or PRO Users

All PRO users will have an envelope icon placed next to their name. Your team members will be shown in the 'My team' Tab and have their department (user group) as well as their role shown to the right of their company name as: 

  • Administrator
  • Internal User 
  • External User
Screenshot 2026-09-24 at 15.01.35.png
Screenshot 2026-09-24 at 14.57.49.png

If you have worked with other users that do not belong to your team, they will show up in 'My contacts'. The list includes both free users and PRO users from other teams. The envelope icon for free users has an exclamation sign. It is possible to use this list to invite new users to your team or remove them from contacts. Please keep in mind that only users with free licences can be invited. A PRO user cannot join a different team, - therefore, this option is disabled for them in "My Contacts". The invitation feature should be used only for users that you wish to incorporate into your team as paid members. 

Screenshot 2026-09-24 at 15.35.12.png
Screenshot 2026-09-24 at 15.41.40.png
Screenshot 2026-09-24 at 15.37.36.png

When you are on a board, you can @mention any user from your user list. This step will automatically trigger an email notification containing the board link. This does not work if the board sharing permission is set to Specific users.

While you can share specific boards with anyone, projects can only be shared with other PRO users. 

Free Users

If you work with any free users, these users will have "Free Licence" written under the Team category and they will show up as a contact in the 'My contacts' tab. 

Invitations 

All team invitations Conceptboard administrators send out to other users will appear under Open Invitations on their user list, until that user creates an account, or (if they already have a free account) accepts the invitation. Administrators can cancel/revoke the invitation, resend it, or change the user's role on their Users page.  

Note to administrators: Inviting a new user to your team is billed as per your current plan.

Guests

Team accounts benefit from an unlimited number of guests, meaning guests on your boards are free of charge. 

Important: Guests are anonymous users. You cannot track or identify their user emails on boards. Guests can also be users who do not have a Conceptboard account of any kind, PRO or free.
Screenshot 2026-09-28 at 14.08.38.png

If you need to share a specific board with someone outside of Conceptboard, - simply invite them to the board. After they have received the invitation and clicked on the link, they will have the option to Enter as a guest and fill in their name. The name will be used for comments on boards. 

Screenshot 2026-09-28 at 14.11.44.png

Important: 

Guests can be only Reviewers or Readers on free boards (the owner of the board is a free user). The limitation applies to all users on a free board, including those who are logged in with a PRO account.

On PRO boards (the owner of the board is a PRO user), guests can act in any of the three access roles: Editors, Reviewers, or Readers.

Guests can leave comments and mark up the content, but they cannot use @mentions to alert another user to a comment, or receive any notifications or alerts about discussions on the board. See all permitted actions for the different access roles here.

If your board access is set to Specific Users, guests will not be able to access the board. Before these users will be able to access a board with this setting, they will first have to join your team. This standard is introduced and maintained to ensure that only the authorised person has access to the board. 

Guests on creating new boards

When guests create new boards or templates via one of our blog posts, the new board will be considered an ownerless board. Ownerless boards are automatically deleted after 24 hours.

Screenshot 2026-09-28 at 14.44.13.png

Important Note: Guests should ensure that someone has claimed ownership of the board to make sure the board will be secured: 

to facilitate this awareness, a pop-up window will prompt the user to log in once the board is created.

Screenshot 2026-09-28 at 14.39.54.png

To claim the board, the guest user must log in via their user icon:

Screenshot 2026-09-28 at 14.50.51.png

Limitations and Restrictions for Guests

Guests CANNOT: 

  • Create or manage board tasks
  • Create and edit board tables
  • @mentions users on boards
  • Activate and use incognito mode
  • Manage participants and their roles
  • Start and cancel an approval process at the Workflow Tab
  • Change a board name
  • Move a board into or from a project
  • Archive and unarchive a board
  • Lock and unlock a board
  • Duplicate a board
  • Delete a board
  • Add team templates
  • Access Web images menu
  • Embed URLs
Was this article helpful?
2 out of 6 found this helpful