icon-document-pdficon-document-pdf-fullicon-document-texticon-searchicon-share-facebookicon-share-googleplusicon-share-linkedinicon-share-twittericon-staricon-video-camera

Sharing Boards: Access Management

The Board Access Management gives our business users more control over their content. Boards can easily be shared by:

  •         sending an invite via email
  •         @mentioning a user in the board (depending on Access Settings)
  •         sharing the board link
  •         creating the board in a shared project

Access Settings

The Board Owner and Editors can manage how participants access the board and which roles participants have by modifying the Access Settings.

To access the Share dialog, you can click on the Share button in the upper right corner within a board or hover over a board tile in the Boards page click on the Share icon. 

How to Open the Board Access Mode

conceptboard-board-access-mode-opt.jpg

If you are allowed to change the board access mode, a small change button is visible to you in the Share dialog. The 3 options are: 

  • Anyone with the link 
  • Anyone with the link and password
  • Specific Users 

Special notes

The following rules apply to all three board access modes. By default, all board Editors can:

  • add/remove participants and change participant access roles

  • change the board access mode (pro users)

  • move the board in/out of a project.

The Board owner can further restrict sharing access to themselves. In that case, @mentioning will only function with users already invited into the board.

Anyone with the link

Anyone that you share the unique board URL with, can access that board as a guest or with their Conceptboard account. You can grab the board url and share it in a conference call or chat with your team. 

By default, all participants that access your board via the URL link will be a Reviewer, unless your Team Administrator has changed the default for the whole team. 

Don’t forget the default access role

If you invite an email address as an Editor but the user accesses your board as a guest, the default access role applies to them. Make sure to change the default access mode or have them create an account and invite their account with a specific board access role.

Free accounts guests

Free accounts are limited to Reader only guests. If you need to collaborate with other users, please make sure they first create a Conceptboard account.  You can then change individual users access role once they are on the board (if you are an Editor, and the Board owner has allowed you to make changes). 

Anyone with the link and password

2018-new-secure-passwords-opt.jpg

If you use the board access mode “Anyone with the link and password” you will now have the option to use an auto-generated secure password. You can also add your own password, but it must include the following security measures:

  • At least 8 characters
  • At least 1 special characters (? #$%!)
  • At least 1 number (o-9)
  • At least 1 uppercase letter

Note: Inviting Conceptboard users explicitly from the Share dialog, or @mentioning them grants automatic access and they will not need to enter a password. 

By default, all participants that access your board with a link and password will be a Reviewer. You can change the default role by choosing a different role from the drop down menu. 

Specific users

2018-new-share-dialog-invite-opt.jpg

The board access mode "Specific users" disables guest access for the board. A list of the board participants can be seen in the Share dialog under the Advanced button.

If you use the board access mode "Specific users" and invite an email address, the user must first create a Conceptboard account, or login with their account (just make sure you’re inviting their correct email address).

Removing participants from a board

Enter the Share dialog under the Advanced tab and click click on the 'X' button next to the participant’s name to remove them from the board. Once removed, they will not have access to the board until it is shared with them again.

If the board is set to anyone with the link or anyone with the link and password, the removed participant will be able to re-enter the board if they know the URL. Switch to Specific Users if you need them permanently removed.

If you remove a user while they are still in the board, all changes they make will not be saved, and all changes other users make will no longer be shown to the removed user. 

 

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful