icon-document-pdficon-document-pdf-fullicon-document-texticon-searchicon-share-facebookicon-share-googleplusicon-share-linkedinicon-share-twittericon-staricon-video-camera

Comments, Tasks, and @Mentions

 

Note: Since this video was made, we've changed the look and organization of the board a bit. The information in this video is still up-to-date, though!

Comment Tool C

Select the comment tool from the toolbar or hit C on your keyboard. Click and drag to create a comment, pointing the arrow to the specific element you are commenting on. 

You can press Shift + Enter or Command  /Control + Enter to save a comment.

Made a comment by mistake? Click outside of the comment box or hit escape, and click Command + Z on your keyboard.

To delete a comment box, select it and hit Delete or Backspace on the keyboard.

To delete only a specific comment that you have created, even if its in a comment thread, click edit and select the words you would like to delete. An empty comment box automatically disappears.

To navigate to a specific comment, click on it in the ’All tasks and comments’ tab on the side navigation panel.

Collapse Finished Comments

Once a decision has been made or a task is ready to be assigned, just collapse the comment via the right up arrow on the bottom of the comment box. This leaves  only the initial task and final decision visible and let's you see which conversations are finished while reducing the number of elements on top of your content.

It doesn’t matter how long your discussions gets, it’s always good to be able to revisit a complete conversation and see the thought process behind a decision.

Creating Links to Items in Board

You can now create interactive clickable buttons of items that are in your board for easier navigation. First add the item to your board outline and then copy the full URL link. Paste it into a comment, this will create a direct link to that item.

Note: Make sure to copy the full URL including the item number before pasting it.

@Mentions

@Mentions and task assignments are project management features that allow you to direct a colleague's attention to a comment or task.

When you type '@' into a comment, you will see a drop down of all your activated contacts. Adding the first few letters of the name helps narrow down your list. You can use the up and down arrows to select the name you want, hit Tab to select it in the comment and continue writing.

When you select the contact you would like to mention, their name will appear as a blue link, and the user will receive an Alert in-app and by email (depending on their preference settings). Alerts include a visual preview of the comment area in the home feed and in emails. 

Note: If the user has not activated their account via email, you will not be able to @mention them in a board.

Remove an @Mention

You can remove an @Mention for yourself or someone you mentioned to stop alerts about that comment thread. Click on the name in the comment and choose "Remove @Mention".

Viewing All Your @Mentions

To view all your @mentions in a board, filter the "All tasks and comment" tab in the side navigation panel to show only your @mentions. You can also click in the View menu in the top tool bar to access the comments alert as well. Click on any @mention to navigate to it in the board.

Tasks 

Since Conceptboard is all about collaboration it has a simple built in task system. Every comment can be transformed into a task. Mark comments as tasks by clicking on the task icon, and click "mark as open task."

Open tasks are marked with an orange corner and circle.

Once you've complete a task, click the task icon to mark it as done. You can also remove the task status, or assign the task. Completed tasks are marked with a green corner and a green check mark. Completed tasks can be marked as being open again.  

Tasks for a specific board will appear with a highlighted corner in the alerts and comments and tasks tab of the side navigation panel. You can also click in the View menu in the top toolbar to navigate directly to the alerts for task menu. You can click on the item to navigate to its location on the board. 

Assigning Tasks

Marking a comment as a task when there is an @Mention in the comment will automatically assign that task to any mentioned users.

For instance, if Ben @Mentions Diana and Steve, they will both be assigned the task. The task appears red when assigned to you, and orange when assigned to anyone else.

You can remove an @Mention so the task is no longer assigned to that user by clicking on the name and choosing "Remove @Mention". The user that is @mentioned or the user that created the comment can remove an @mention. 

Once the task is done, anyone can select the task icon in the lower righthand corner of the comment and mark as complete. If needed, you can assign the task again, and it will automatically be assigned to any remaining @Mentioned users in the comment.

Viewing Tasks

In a Board

Tasks for a specific board will appear with a highlighted corner in the ‘All tasks and comments’ tab on the side navigation panel. You can filter to see all tasks and comments, all open tasks, or just open tasks assigned to you. Click on the item to navigate to its location on the board.

On the Boards Overview Page

Quickly see which boards have outstanding tasks on your Boards Overview. Your assigned tasks are displayed in the top right corner of a board tile or project, so you always know what needs your attention.

Boards with Open Tasks (Home Page)

Your Home Dashboard includes an overview of all your open tasks. Consider it your Conceptboard To-Do list, to make sure you stay on top of all of your projects.

 

Was this article helpful?
4 out of 4 found this helpful