icon-document-pdficon-document-pdf-fullicon-document-texticon-searchicon-share-facebookicon-share-googleplusicon-share-linkedinicon-share-twittericon-staricon-video-camera

Video/Audio Chat and Screen-sharing

Video or audio conference is a great collaboration tool to use with anyone, no matter their location. Conceptboard supports WebRTC video and audio conferencing in most modern browsers.

  Video/Audio Screen sharing Remarks
Google Chrome Extension for screen-sharing 
Mozilla Firefox ✓  Extension for screen-sharing 
Internet Explorer Plugin for video + screen-sharing
Edge      
Safari      
Android Tablets/Phones    
iPad/iPhones       


You can use the video and audio chat with Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, and Internet Explorer browsers. You can also use the video/audio chat on Android tablets and phones! Unfortunately, Safari and Edge browsers do not support WebRTC standards at the moment. 

How To Turn On Video or Audio Chat

Click on the phone icon located next to the active users in the upper right corner of the board. You can also access it via the Conference menu.

Before you can start video or audio chatting, you must allow Conceptboard to use your camera and microphone, and install the extension to allow screen-sharing. 

Chrome Video/Audio Chat

After clicking on the phone or video icon, a pop up window will appear on the upper left asking to use your camera and/or microphone. Click allow and your video or audio feed will turn on automatically. 

To change which microphone or camera you are using, click the camera icon that appears in the upper right corner of the URL bar. 

If you've blocked Conceptboard from using your microphone or camera, a small red icon will appear in the URL bar when you click audio or video chat. Click on it and then on "Always allow" or "manage camera settings". You will need to reload the board.

Chrome Screen-sharing

The first time you use the screen-sharing feature you must install an extension (don't worry, it's fast!).

  1. Click "Share screen".
  2. Click "Yes, install extension" in the dialogue popup.   
  3. Click "Add extension" in the Chrome extension popup.
  4. Choose a Screen or Application window to share in the board.

If you cancel the screen-sharing, you will need to reload the board to use the audio or video chat again. 

How to Enlarge Screen-sharing 

Each user can hover over the screen-share and enlarge it. You can also:

  1. Click the fullscreen icon in the toolbar (or via the menu View>Fullscreen).
  2. Enlarge the screen-sharing window.

Mozilla Firefox Video/Audio Chat

After clicking on the phone or video icon, a pop up window will appear on the upper left asking to use your camera and/or microphone. Click allow and your video or audio feed will turn on automatically. Click the dropdown and choose "Always Share" for Firefox to remember your settings.

If you've accidentally clicked outside the Permissions window, click the small microphone icon to bring up the settings dialog again. 

Mozilla Screen-sharing

The first time you use the screen-sharing feature you must install an extension (don't worry, it's fast!).

  1. Click "Share screen".
  2. Click "Yes, install extension" in the dialogue popup.   
  3. Click "Add to Firefox" in the new tab.
  4. Click "Install".

Go back to the board tab and click "Share screen." You may have to click the small screensharing icon in the upper left if it does not pop up. Click "Share screen". 

Please note: There is currently a bug affecting Firefox, where the browser does not remember you have already installed the extension. If this happens to you, please reload the board a few times and try screen sharing. We've already logged a report with Firefox and Tokbox and are working on the issue. 

Internet Explorer Plugin for Video/Audio/Screen-sharing

You will need to install the Opentok IE plugin in order to use the conferencing feature.

  1. Hover over the phone icon and click on the link to install the Opentok IE plugin.
  2. A pop up window will appear asking to accept to download the plugin. Check the box to accept and then click ‘Download plugin’.
  3. On the bottom of your browser, another window will appear asking to run or save the plugin. Click on Run.
  4. Once the plugin is installed, click on "Restore connection" or refresh the board. 

 

Each time you turn on audio or video chat you must grant the app permission to use your microphone or camera.  

Using Video or Audio Chat

Once the video or audio feed is running, you can hover over your name to bring up the conferencing options. You can mute your microphone by clicking on the microphone icon. Mute others by hovering over their name and clicking the sound icon.

Each user can enlarge a video or screen-sharing screen by clicking the enlarge icon in the upper right corner of the video/screen-sharing feed. 

How many people can use the conferencing at the same time?

The number of participants in each session is limited by client-side bandwidth, device, and CPU limitations for processing vast amounts of video and audio streams.  

For multi-party video sessions in the browser, Tokbox supports up to 25 users both publishing and subscribing in the session. Please make sure everyone is wearing headphones to minimize feedback on the calls. 

For broadcast sessions, Tokbox gives the following suggestion to figure out the maximum number of people:

"you need to consider both the total number of publishers and the total number of subscribers. For each publisher, count the number of subscribers it has, and sum up this count over all publishers. This value should then be no more than 300. As a general guideline, you can think of the following constraint as holding true for broadcast sessions:

(number of publishers) X (number of subscribers) <= 300"

10 hours of Conferencing Included

The video/audio conferencing and screen sharing are available to all our professional Conceptboard users, as well as Basic users who have unlocked video conferencing.

Each of these users gets 10 hours of subscribed conferencing per month. In a Team license, the hours can be shared by the whole team. Administrators can see how many hours they've used in their Account Overview.

What is an hour of subscribed conferencing?

During a conference call on a board, conference participants publish a data stream (audio, video, etc.) to all other participants on the board. These users count as "subscribed" to the publisher's stream - they can hear them, and see them, or their screen. The amount of time that they receive the publishers stream is added up to the account of the board owner.

Example 1: Call between team members
If 2 team members spend 1 hour on a board in a video conference, each of them receives the stream of the other for 1 hour. This results in 2 times 1 hour of subscribed conferencing. Their team's conferencing budget gets decreased by 2 hours.

Example 2: Call between user and guest
If 1 users spends 1 hour of video conferencing with 1 guest, again both receive 1 hour of stream from the other. As the action happened on the user's board, the user's conferencing budget is decreased by 2 hours.

Example 3: Webinar scenario
If 1 tutor does a 1 hour webinar with 3 participants, the participants won't need to publish their own streams. Here, the tutor is the only publisher, but the stream is received by the 3 webinar participants. Therefor, the subscribed conferencing time adds up to 3 hours.

What happens when my conferencing budget is over?

Our goal is to support your collaboration, so we won't interrupt your conference call when you go over your budget. In fact, we trust our customers to stay under the 10 hours per user, but we also don't mind if they go over the limit slightly once in a while. 

If you can foresee that the 10 hours are not enough, please contact us. We can offer you packages of additional hours at a price of $0.99/hour.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful