icon-document-pdficon-document-pdf-fullicon-document-texticon-searchicon-share-facebookicon-share-googleplusicon-share-linkedinicon-share-twittericon-staricon-video-camera

Projects

 

You can create projects to gather all related boards in one area. There is no limit on the number of boards that can be in a project. 

Who Can Access a Project

Projects is for professional users only. There are 2 types of users that can access projects: 

  • Project members
    • Team members (Administrators, Internal, and External users)
    • Pro users that are not part of your team
  • Limited Project access users
    • Pro or basic users that have been invited only to specific boards in the project 

Note: For others to access your projects, you must share a board or add them to the project first. 

Limited Project Access

A user will have Limited Project access only when a board that is inside the project has been shared with them. The project folder will be visible in their 'Boards' page, shown with a Limited Project access icon, located on the top left of the project.      

 

The Limited Project access user will also be able to open the project folder, but will only see limited items in the project. 

Inside a project, they will be able to see:

  • Boards that have been shared with them

  • Boards where they are @mentioned

  • Boards where they have tasks assigned to them

  • Other users in boards with allowed access

  • Project owner, project creation date, last change date

They will not see project members or other boards that they do not have access to. 

How To Create a Project

You can create a project from the left panel by clicking the Create new project button. This button is located underneath the list of your active projects.

 

How to Add Project Members 

To add your collaborators to a project, enter a project and click on the 'Project member' button located on the top right. Start typing a name and select them from the drop down menu. You can add any user that is part of your team to a project. 

 

Being added as a project member means: 

  • Access to all boards inside the project
  • Can create boards inside the project
  • Access to all new boards that are created or moved inside the project
  • Will be notified of all activity in all boards within a project 

Note: You can remove a project member's access to a specific board within a project via the board access management.

How to Set a Role to Each Project Member 

When inviting a Project member, you can automatically set the role that the user will have within all boards in a project.

Before sending out the invitation via the Project members button, choose the specific role within the drop down menu next to Add project member as:

If the user has already been invited to the project and you would like to change their role, access the 'Project members' dialog, and change their role within the drop down next to their name.

Note: Editors can change the roles of Reviewers or Readers. Please contact the Project Owner to change your own role within a project.

Working with a Project

Depending on what kind of user you are, you will have different capabilities when working with a project. The table of project access by user role will explain all permitted actions for each role. 

How to Leave a Project

To leave a project, click on the Settings button located in the right corner inside a project or by hovering over the project tile. Once the dialog box is visible, click on Leave project button on the bottom of the box. You will have to confirm a second time that you would like to leave the project. 

You can also access the Project Members dialog, and then click on the 'X' that is located to the right of your name. Note: You will not be asked to confirm that you would like to be removed from the project. 

After leaving a project, you will be a Limited Project access user. The project and the boards that you still have access to will be visible in your Boards page, but you will not be able to see other project members, any boards that you do not have access to, or any new boards created inside the project. 

To completely remove a project from your Boards page, you must leave and then delete all boards in the Limited Project access. 

Note: You have access to boards that have been shared with you, where you were @mentioned, or where you have tasks assigned to you. 

How to Remove a Member From a Project

To remove an already added member from a project, you must enter a project and click the Project members button. Then, click on the 'X' symbol next to the users name. Reviewers can only remove themselves from a project, they cannot remove other participants. 

Note: Removing a member from a project will not remove them from boards inside the project that they have created, where they are @mentioned, or have had tasks assigned to them. 

How to Delete a Project

To delete a project, you must be the owner of the project. Also, all boards must be deleted or removed from the project in order to delete the project.

Once all boards have been removed, click on the Settings button and click on the Delete button on the bottom right of the dialog. You will have to confirm a second time that you definitely want to delete the project as this action is irreversible.

How to Move a Board from a Project to Another Project

You can drag any board from a project to another project. Click on a board in your boards overview page, and drag it into a project. It is that easy! 

 

You can also move a board from the Board Settings. Access the Settings by either clicking on the Settings icon in Project overview page or by clicking on Settings via the Board menu in the top tool bar when inside the board.   

Once the Settings dialog is open, click on 'Project folder' drop down menu to give you access to all your project folders. Choose one of the projects already created and the board will automatically be moved to the chosen project.

How to Remove a Board From a Project

You must be the owner of the board to remove it from the project. Access the Board Settings by either clicking on the Setting icon in the Project overview page or by clicking on Settings via the Board menu in the top tool bar when inside the board.

Once the Settings dialog is open, click on Project folder drop down menu to give you access to all your project folders. Then, choose 'Not part of a project' and the board will automatically be removed from the project and can be found in your Boards page. 

How to Delete a Board From a Project

You must be the owner of the board to remove it from the project. Access the Board Settings by either clicking on the Setting icon in the Project overview page or by clicking on Settings via the Board menu in the top tool bar when inside the board.

Once the Settings dialog opens, click on the Delete button located on the bottom right of the dialog. You will have to confirm a second time that you definitely want to delete the board as this action is permanent. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful