icon-document-pdficon-document-pdf-fullicon-document-texticon-searchicon-share-facebookicon-share-googleplusicon-share-linkedinicon-share-twittericon-staricon-video-camera

Board Access Roles

 

As part of the Project Workflow release, we’ve implemented a brand new feature: Board Access Roles. With these roles, it will give all Board Owners the ability to choose which participants have what rights on a board.

These roles can also be chosen within a project. When you assign these roles in a project, all boards that are created within that project will automatically use the default roles. 

As you share your board with other participants via the Share button, you can chose what role they will have when they access your boards. All participants in a board can have one of 3 roles:

Editor

An Editor will have full access to the board. This participant will be able to use all Conceptboard tools, access the Workflow dialog, and start an approval process. They will also be able to lock and unlock a board, even during an approval process via the Board Settings

Depending on the setting you chose, this participant can also add more participants to the board and edit their roles via the Share dialog.  

Reviewer

A Reviewer is intended for participants that need to review content.

When a Reviewer accesses your boards, they will have a simplified interface with limited set of tools available for them to use. They will only be able to use the Scribble tool, the Highlighting tool, Comment tool, Sticky Notes, and insert their own content to the board.

They can access the Workflow dialog to see the history of the board and to include their own updates to the feed. In the Share dialog, Reviewers will be able to change their notification setting, but they cannot change their own role or other participants roles.

As a Reviewer, they cannot move other participants’ content, or select content that does not belong to them. They can only move content or specific objects that they have created. They can reply to other participants' comments but will not be able to move the comment box.  

Reader

A Reader can view the board as “Read-Only”. They are able to move around the board and use the conference tools, but they cannot contribute to the board.

They will be able to see everything in the left navigation panel, such as alerts, tasks assigned, and sections.

All Readers have access to the Updates and Approval dialog, where they see all updates but cannot post any updates or be a part of an approval process. They can also access the Share dialog to edit their notification settings, but they cannot change their own role or those of other participants.

Guest Access

When a guest signs onto your board, they can access it as an Editor, Reviewer, or a Reader, depending on the default setting the Board Owner has selected for the board. This default can be changed in the Share dialog, click here for further details: https://help.conceptboard.com/hc/en-us/articles/201775772-Sharing-Boards-Access-Management

Please note: by default, Enterprise dedicated instances have guest access disabled by default. 

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 3 found this helpful